Experimenting with an English Cocker pattern on a puppy

12 Dec

image

image

image

image

image

image

This is Rico, a 6 month old cocker puppy. This is his 2nd groom and he’s extremely submissive and anxious. He tried to bite my coworker when she checked him in for me and she came in shaking her head and giving what she thought was a death sentence: “they want a cocker cut”.

I’d already given him an A+ for his first puppy groom and the go-ahead to attempt a full haircut the next time. I waited for the bathing area to quiet down, then greeted him in his kennel. I think he remembered me because he batted his 3 inch eyelashes at me and army-crawled to me.

Using low water pressure, a Happy Hoodie, and lots of praise I was able to bathe and velocity dry him straight through without incident. I used a Furminator first to pull any puppy fuzzies first. For the haircut I used a wahl #2 at first, then made a higher pattern using a 5. Because he has sparse furnishings I decided to attempt an English pattern and used a photo like the one attached as a guide. I was taught all cockers get a hula skirt so I had some serious misgivings about that angle. Im cautiously happy with it as a puppy’s first breed clip, but still uncertain if I interpreted the pattern right.

His ears and face are not as neat as i’d like but he was flinching and nervous and risking his eyelashes. I put the clipper on low and just lightly massaged near his head with them til he was calmer, but he was still obviously getting anxious. Rather than end a perfect groom with a power struggle, I called the experience a success and scissored what I could from his face. His mom was thrilled, he was very happy and proud to be alive, everyone went home satisfied.

Leave a Reply

